killoimage.blogg.se

Mac mini 2011 server
Mac mini 2011 server





  1. #MAC MINI 2011 SERVER INSTALL#
  2. #MAC MINI 2011 SERVER UPGRADE#
  3. #MAC MINI 2011 SERVER SOFTWARE#
  4. #MAC MINI 2011 SERVER ISO#
  5. #MAC MINI 2011 SERVER FREE#

Now it was just a matter of setting up a simple share of my RAID array to allow the Windows PC’s on my network to access Einstein.

#MAC MINI 2011 SERVER INSTALL#

Then it was a matter of restarting the networking process with: sudo /etc/init.d/networking restartĪs part of the install process for Ubuntu I’d chosen to install Samba. So I used: sudo nano /etc/network/interfacesĪnd changed the settings for eth0 from dhcp to the following:Įinstein’s Interfaces File in a PuTTy Session Now I needed to get Einstein on the network. I can still boot it up via my handy USB stick and get the data off of the drive onto an external HDD if needed. This solution isn’t ideal because if /dev/sda goes down I won’t be able to boot the Mac as I couldn’t make /dev/sdb bootable. I setup /dev/md0 as my raid array using the two 400GB partitions as the members of the array and mounted /dev/md0 as /srv. So, after much fiddling about I ended up with the following partitions on the drives. But one of these HDDs just got persnickety and refused to cooperate. I don’t know if some HDD’s only allow MBR boot partitions or not. The first, was that one of the disks just wouldn’t be setup with a UEFI boot partition. The Ubuntu install script does an admirable job holding your hand through the raid setup process (this is the first time I’d ever done it) but there were a few hiccups along the way. I encountered a few snags on the way that were almost all to do with getting the two 500GB disks working in a RAID 1 format. I won’t take you through the entire process of setting up Ubuntu server on the Mac. I clicked on that and booted into the Ubuntu installer.

#MAC MINI 2011 SERVER ISO#

Please select an EFI bootable ISO or set the Target Type to BIOS” “When using UEFI Target Type, only EFI bootable ISO images are supported. I selected this option and tried to build the USB stick again but Rufus complained with the following message: Rufus provides a few options for the partition scheme and the target computer type, one of which is GPT Partition Scheme for UEFI computer.

#MAC MINI 2011 SERVER SOFTWARE#

A bit of Googling later and I’ve found out Mac Mini’s don’t have BIOS they have UEFI to link their software and hardware and therefore they require a bootable USB stick to be setup for a UEFI computer. There I could see both internal hard disks which were setup in a bootable RAID 1 array. Putting the stick into the back of the Mac I held down the left ALT button on my keyboard and booted it up and was shown the boot device menu. I grabbed a spare 8GB stick, downloaded Rufus and created a bootable stick using the ISO I had of Ubuntu 12.04 LTS. So, the only sensible way of getting an OS on it was via a USB stick. Let’s install Linux on the Mac.Įinstein is a dual 500GB HDD Mac Mini with 2GB of RAM and no optical drive. The GUI is awful and I always found myself dropping to the command line to do things. And finally, I hated MacOS 10 Server with a passion. Second, I am moderately comfortable with Ubuntu server because it’s what’s running on my managed web servers. Firstly, the Mac repair place assured me they could find nothing wrong with the hardware in the computer so presumably there was something wrong with the OS. Ditch MacOS 10 and try installing Linux (namely Ubuntu server) on it. And this time I decided on something drastic. So, I decided to have one last go at getting “Einstein” working. Something to act as a file server and something with a Unix based operating system on it so I can run CRON jobs and do various other things. I needed the Mac Mini working or failing that, something else.

#MAC MINI 2011 SERVER FREE#

For more information, please feel free to use our online Live Chat, e-mail customer support, or call us toll free at 80.Einstein – A 2011 Mac Mini with 2GB of RAM and dual 500GB Hard Disks This purchase is also subject to the Terms and Conditions and the Terms of Sale.

#MAC MINI 2011 SERVER UPGRADE#

If you have questions about the Mac Mini Upgrade Service, please check our extensive FAQ's. Please place a separate order for items you would like to receive prior to the availability of your upgraded Mac Mini. So, please take a moment to review and confirm your selected upgrade options.Īny items ordered along with this Mac Mini upgrade will be held on order and shipped with your upgraded Mac Mini. Once the upgrade has begun, the service cannot be canceled and you will be charged in full. There is a $25 cancellation fee for a Mac Mini Upgrade Service canceled after payment has been received, but prior to upgrade work being performed. Once we have received your Mac Mini, please allow 1-3 business days to complete the upgrade process.







Mac mini 2011 server